Bathing time!

Hy there,

Today I thought I might share a new experience with you. My beloved Panko was a little dirty (and by a little I mean a lottle) but I was really afraid of washing him because I thought he might be less fluffy afterwards. Well, he wasn’t. Rather Panko gained even more of his former fluffiness! *-* Here’s some pictures of the progress:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When Panko was soaked full with water he was really, really heavy. That made brushing his paws a little harder but it was possible though 🙂 I used normal soap, a brush (for dishes) and a washcloth to clean him.

Drying takes a long time because the alpacas get really really soaked up with water. I wrung Panko out when he was in the sink but it still takes a lot of time to get him dry. As soon as he stopped dripping I took him off the drying rack and put him on the heating. After that he was as cuddly as ever and smelled really good too 😀 I even cuddled him in the same night.

ATTENTION: I found out after that, that putting your paca on the heating will shrink the stuffing and you’ll have to restuff your friend if he gets to floppy. So please only dry with air + sunlight if you don’t feel like restuffing =) 

So that’s everything I know about washing Alpacassos. I guess one last tip would be to brush the snout, ears and paws when they’re wet because I think it will make a difference to the smoothness when you don’t.

Best regards,
Hannah

Leave a comment